ICC Champions Trophy History

ICC Champions Trophy History, Mini World Cup Records, Champions Trophy started considering that 1998 and also second biggest competition after globe mug.
Background – ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy is ODI cricket tournament. The Mini World Cup is 2nd bigest tournament after “Cricket World Cup”. It was inaugurated as the Knock Out event in 1998 in Bangladesh and also has been played every 2 years given that, changing its name to the “Champions Trophy” in 2002. In very first 4 tournament, get involved 10 complete participants and 2 associate members. Now from 2008, [AdSense-B]
this will be transformed to the 8 highest-ranked ODI groups as placed 6 months of the event.

1998: Bangladesh

All the suits in the 1998 Knock Out were played in Dhaka, the funding of Bangladesh. The tournament started with a match between Zimbabwe and New Zealand to decide which would continue to the Quarter Finals.
The very first Champions Trophy was won by South Africa, who debeat West Indies in the last.

2000: Kenya

All of the suits in the 2000 Knock Out were played in Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. Leading five group straight entered in Quarter Final, as well as three qualifying suits before the Quarter Finals, i.e. Kenya, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and also England. The competition was won by New Zealand debeat India in the final.

history icc champions

2002: Sri Lanka

All of the suits in the 2002 Knock Out were played in Colombo, the capital of Sri Lanka. This time get involved 10 complete participants as well as 2 associate member consisted of Netherlands as well as Kenya. The last between India and Sri Lanka was washed out twice to leave no result. As a result, the ICC Champions Trophy for the year 2002 was collectively awarded to India and Sri Lanka.

2004: England

The 2004 Champions Trophy was kept in England. Very first time matches played more than one place, [AdSense-B]
they were Edgbaston, The Rose Bowl as well as The Oval. Ten full members as well as 2 associate participant Kenya as well as the USA consist of in tournament. The tournament was won West Indies defeat host group England.

2006: India

The 2006 Champions Trophy was kept in India and also last played at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai as well as various other locations were Mohali, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Mumbai. A brand-new layout was utilized. 8 groups were contending in the group stage: the leading six groups in the ICC ODI Championship on 1 April 2006, plus two groups chosen from the various other four Test-playing groups Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, picked from a pre-tournament round robin certifying round. West Indies and Sri Lanka qualified.

The 8 groups separate into two groups of four in a round robin competitors. While Australia as well as West Indies certified from Group A, South Africa as well as New Zealand certified from Group B for semifinals. Last played between Australia and West Indies. In the finals, Australia defeated West Indies.

2008: Pakistan

Champions Trophy 2008 is postponed to October 2009 due to the safety and security problems.

2009: South Africa

South Africa hosts Champions Trophy from September 24 to October 5, 2009.

2013: England

The England & Wales host the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. India beat England by five runs in rain affected 20-overs game.

2017: England

The England & Wales will hold the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. 9th mini World Cup schedule from 1 to 18 June, 2017. ECB will hold Champions Trophy record third time.

icc championship history