First T20: England defeated by 31 runs at home

Pakistan defeated hosts England by 31 runs in the first match of the three-match T20 series to take a 1-0 lead in the series.

England captain Ian Morgan won the toss and elected to bat first in the first T20 match played in Nottingham, England.

Batting first, captain Babar Azam and vice-captain Mohammad Rizwan batted brilliantly to give Pakistan a big target of 232 for six in the allotted overs.

Pakistan’s first wicket fell to 150 when Mohammad Rizwan was dismissed for 63 off eight fours and a six.

Babar Azam played an aggressive innings of 85 off 49 balls with the help of 8 fours and 3 sixes and was dismissed by Bairstow on the ball of Valley.

In reply, the hosts were bowled out for 201 off the second ball of the last over.

England’s Liam Livingston batted brilliantly and scored a century but he could not give his team a victory, he scored 103 runs off 43 balls which included 9 sixes and 6 fours.

Jason Roy of the hosts was dismissed for 32 while England captain Ian Morgan and David Valley returned to the pavilion after scoring 16 and 16 runs respectively.

Jason Roy of the English team gave the team a great start by batting aggressively but was caught by Shadab Khan.

Pakistan’s Shadab Khan and Shaheen Afridi took 3, 3 while Mohammad Hasnain, Haris Rauf and Emad Wasim took one wicket each.

Shaheen Shah Afridi was declared the best player of the match for his superb bowling.

Both teams consisted of these players for the match.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhr Zaman, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Emad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain

England: Ian Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, David Milan, Johnny Bairstow, Liam Livingston, Moin Ali, Lewis Gregory, Tom Kieran, David Valley, Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson