Cricket News

Ken Williamson withdraws himself from T20 series against India

New Zealand captain Ken Williamson has withdrawn from the three-match Twenty20 series against India this week. The first T20 match between India and New Zealand will be played on Wednesday in Jaipur, India, but Ken Williamson will not play in the T20 series to prepare for the Test series against India.

New Zealand team management says it has been decided to allow Williamson to prepare for two Red Ball matches with the Test squad. In Ken Williamson’s absence, Tim Southee will lead the T20 team. Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips and Mitchell Sentner are in the squad for the Test series starting November 25.

The first Test between the two teams will be played in Kanpur while the second Test will be played in Mumbai from December 3. It may be recalled that Indian captain Virat Kohli will not play in the first Test against New Zealand while Jaspreet Bumra and Mohammad Shami will also not play in the Test series.

In the absence of Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane will lead the team, Rohit Sharma will play as the wicket keeper and Rishab Punt will play the fast bowler.