Cricket Records

India defeated New Zealand in the first T20 match

India beat New Zealand by 5 wickets in the first T20 International.

In the match played in Jaipur, India won the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first. The Kiwis scored 164 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

New Zealand’s Martin Guptill (70) and Mark Chapman (63) stood out while India’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravi Chander Ashwin took 2 wickets each.

In reply, India achieved the target of 165 runs in 19.4 overs. Surya Kumar Yadav (62) and captain Rohit Sharma (48) played the innings.

The other two T20 matches of the series between the two teams will be played on November 19 and 21.